Learning Log – iGoogle

This was my first time learning about iGoogle.  I didn’t even know it existed until today.  I think it could be a great resource because it keeps all my information in one place where I can easily check and access it all.  Previously, I got overwhelmed thinking about trying to check in on Twitter, GoogleReader, GoogleDocs, my email, and any other tools I might use as a teacher.  But iGoogle keeps it all in one place!  Now I don’t have to try to make a mental checklist of all the places I need to go to check for updates and information.  In that way, I think iGoogle could be a great tool for me as a teacher.  It will help me stay organized and on top of everything.

Starting into this assignment, I was a little worried that it would be just another thing to remember to check.  Or that I’ll set it up and simply forget about it.  But as I started using it more and learning my way around, I started to get more excited at how helpful it could be to me, both in my own learning experience and as a teacher.  It’s great how customizable the homepage is.  I could add and arrange the gadgets in any way I wanted.  I added gadgets for my email, GoogleReader, GoogleDocs, the weather, a to do list, Twitter, the news, a dictionary, “useless knowledge”, and even a little hamster that runs around and plays in his little box (I couldn’t help adding that one =p).  Now I feel as though I will continue to use iGoogle because of how helpful it will be in keeping me up-to-date on what’s going on in all my different tools.

About SLM508 - Sarah Miller

I am a graduate student in McDaniel College's BEST program. I have been teaching English as a foreign language to students in South Korea since 2006. English is my love and teaching is my passion. View all posts by SLM508 - Sarah Miller

Leave a Reply

