Learning Log – Digital Story Assignment

I’m new to the idea of digital storytelling.  I have never previously created a digital story nor heard much about them being used in an instructional setting.  I have created a slideshow a few times using iMovie for personal pictures and for fun, but never for educational purposes.  I also have never collected pictures and music from outside sources, compiled them, and narrated the show/story.  The most difficult part of this assignment, I found, was trying to make sure that I didn’t not break any copyright laws in my use of the pictures and music.  However, once I found out how to search images on Flickr that were licensed under Creative Commons, I found it much easier.  On that note, the standard in which I feel I grew the most is AASL Standard 3.1.  I learned how to locate and use information for instructional purposes in appropriate ways and without copyright infringement.  I am now much more confident in collecting and compiling information from the Internet for educational purposes.

I ended up having fun creating my first digital story.  Although I know that as I have more experience with it, the quality of my work will improve, I feel as though I’ve gotten over the hardest part – creating my first one.  I look forward to producing more digital stories to reach my students in their world and hopefully help them become engaged and interested in the learning process and the material being taught.

About SLM508 - Sarah Miller

I am a graduate student in McDaniel College's BEST program. I have been teaching English as a foreign language to students in South Korea since 2006. English is my love and teaching is my passion. View all posts by SLM508 - Sarah Miller

Leave a Reply

