Learning my way around…

This is my first time using wordpress. I have had and currently have personal blogs on xanga and blogspot, respectively. I’m still learning my way around wordpress, but so far, it seems to have a lot more capabilities and options than my current blog on blogspot. There are so many resources on the internet and with technology that it’s hard to believe I’ll ever know even a portion of what is available. However, I’m really looking forward to learning about some of it and using it to the advantage of my future students and career. I hope to be a computer savvy teacher and to use diverse resources to educate my students. I believe this course will greatly help me in that endeavor. So, here we go!

About SLM508 - Sarah Miller

I am a graduate student in McDaniel College's BEST program. I have been teaching English as a foreign language to students in South Korea since 2006. English is my love and teaching is my passion. View all posts by SLM508 - Sarah Miller

4 responses to “Learning my way around…

  • nikkisantos36

    I agree Sarah there is so much to learn! At least you have prior use/knowledge of blogging. Are they very different? I guess you just have to get used to the various formats? Wish me luck as I do this for the first time! 🙂

    • SLM508 - Sarah Miller

      Yes, I am glad I have a bit of previous experience with blogging. I almost wish I had used wordpress instead of blogspot so I’d be more familiar with this set up! Each site is different. I found xanga and blogspot to be less complicated and easier to navigate. Definitely, the best of luck to you as you figure all this out! If you have any questions, I’d be happy to help you the best I can. =)

  • shawnlees

    I agree with both you and Nikki. Sometimes the resources available on the internet are just so overwhelmning. And then there is the hardware! The ereaders, ipads, white boards, tablets, pens, etc.! I just have to remind myself to just take one step at a time or else I just feel like I’ll never learn it all . . .which I won’t because it’s constantly changing!

  • Lisa LeCompte

    I totally agree. This is my first experience with Word Press as well. I have tried a couple of other blogging sites in the past as part of PD days at work and never touched them once I left. I am glad that this class is forcing me to be a blogger. I feel it is something we need to know how to do in our profession. However, I wouldn’t be telling the truth if I said I still wasn’t feeling a little overwhelmed!

Leave a Reply

